Kate Kerrigan Named NEWBA, D3Hoops.com Northeast Player of the Year

More photos available at www.CIPhotography.com
More photos available at www.CIPhotography.com

BRUNSWICK, Maine - Bowdoin women's basketball senior Kate Kerrigan (Wellesley Hills, Mass.) has been named both the New England Women's Basketball Association and D3hoops.com Northeast Region Player of the Year in awards announced on Tuesday.

Kerrigan was also named First Team All-Northeast Region by D3hoops.com and First Team All-NEWBA. Junior Abby Kelly (Bombay, N.Y.) was named Second Team All-NEWBA. Bowdoin head coach Adrienne Shibles was recognized as the D3hoops.com Northeast Region Coach of the Year.

Senior guard Kate Kerrigan garnered the regional awards just a week after being named the 2018 NESCAC Player of the Year, NESCAC Defensive Player of the Year and First Team All-NESCAC. She is only player in Bowdoin women's basketball history to total more than 900 points, 600 rebounds, 300 assists and 200 steals in a career. Additionally, Kerrigan leads team in rebounds, assists and steals this season. Through six postseason games (NESCAC & NCAA), Kerrigan is averaging 14.0 ppg, 7.8 rpg, 3.5 apg and 2.5 spg. She enters the Final Four with 993 career points.

Kelly earns a NEWBA Second Team nod following a fantastic junior season that saw her lead the team in scoring while coming off the bench. She also collected All-NESCAC second team recognition after leading the team at 11.6 points per game while contributing 4.3 rebounds and 2.1 assists per game.

In her tenth season at Bowdoin, head coach Adrienne Shibles has led Bowdoin to nine NCAA Tournament bids and owns a 222-62 (.782) record with the Polar Bears, including 20 wins in nine of her ten campaigns. The team's 28-win season in 2017-18 is the program's best win total under Shibles and the third-most in program history.

The trio helped lead the Polar Bears to a 28-2 record so far this season and the squad's second NCAA Division III "Final Four" appearance. Bowdoin will face Wartburg in the NCAA semifinals on Friday in Rochester, Minnesota.