Pizzo, Lindgren and Kaplan Recognized in NEISA Honors

More photos available at www.CIPhotography.com
More photos available at www.CIPhotography.com

BRUNSWICK, Maine – The Bowdoin College sailing team was honored in All-New England Intercollegiate Sailing Association awards handed out on Sunday, April 28th.

Senior Matt Kaplan (Larchmont, N.Y.) was named a First Team All-NEISA Skipper while classmate Louisa Lindgren (New York, N.Y.) was named a Second Team All-NEISA Crew. Bowdoin head coach Frank Pizzo was recognized as the NEISA Coach of the Year.

One of the top skippers in program history, Kaplan has sailed A-Division for the Polar Bears for three of his four years. He has 30 top-five regatta finishes in his Bowdoin career and won the first round of the showcase qualifier last fall lead the team to its best team race season ever (2nd at Sharpe, 1st at Rudkin, 2nd at SNETR, 4th at Team Race Qualifiers).

Lindgren is one of the finest crews in Bowdoin history, helping the team qualify for Team Race Nationals for the first time in program history. Top finishes this spring include: Coed Showcase First Round: 1A Coed Showcase Finals: 5A and 5B Match Race NE Champs: 3rd Schell Trophy: 5A Sharpe Trophy: 2nd Rudkin Trophy: 1st Southern New England Team Race: 2nd NEISA Team Race Champs.

Pizzo, the head coach of the Bowdoin sailing team since 2008, was named NEISA Coach of the Year after leading the Polar Bears to an incredibly successful campaign. The 2006 Bowdoin grad has guided the Polar Bears to berths in all three Intercollegiate Sailing Association spring championships: The Sperry Women's Nationals, The LaserPerformance Team Race Nationals and Gill Coed Nationals for the first time in program history. It is the second time Pizzo has been recognized as the NEISA Coach of the Year, having also received the award in 2012.