Men's Distance Medley Relay Team Wins Division III National Championship

Men's Distance Medley Relay Team Wins Division III National Championship

GRINNELL, Iowa - The Bowdoin College men's distance medley relay team won the Division III national championship on Friday evening at Grinnell College in a time of 9:59.67.

The team of Coby Horowitz, Matthew Gamache, Colin Fong and Matthew Hillard established a championship meet record with the time, besting Wisconsin-Stevens Point by 0.3 seconds. It is the first indoor track national title in school history for Bowdoin and shattered the Division III meet record (10:05.72) by more than six seconds.

Bowdoin was among the top three for the majority of the race and, entering the final lap, Hillard stood in second place behind Middlebury's Michael Schmidt. Hillard made a powerful kick to pass Schmidt and pull away from the field. Hillard held off a late push by UWSP's Dan Sullivan and Bates' Noah Graboys to take the victory.

Other Bowdoin performances on Friday included Erin Silva's 12th-place finish in the pole vault (3.60 meters) and Annie Huyler's 14th-place showing in the pentathlon (3,154 points). Chantal Croteau (13th in mile prelims, 5:08.99) and Elsa Millett (10th in 400 meter prelims, 57.53) did not qualify for Saturday's finals in their respective events.

The Polar Bears' women's 4x400 meter relay team were the lone competitors in Saturday action for Bowdoin. The quartet of Emily Clark, Emily Barr, Alee Wade and Millett placed eighth overall in a time of 3:55.09 to claim All-American honors. The time also established a new flat-track indoor school record.

Hillard Photo courtesy of