Men's Tennis Places Five In All-NESCAC Honors

Jerry Jiang, Kyle Wolfe and Conor Smith were three of Bowdoin's five All-NESCAC honorees
Jerry Jiang, Kyle Wolfe and Conor Smith were three of Bowdoin's five All-NESCAC honorees

BRUNSWICK, Maine - Five members of the Bowdoin men's tennis team were recognized as All-NESCAC performers in conference awards announced on Thursday.

Luke Tercek (Washington, D.C.) and Grant Urken (Purchase, N.Y.) were recognized as First Team All-NESCAC selections and also qualified for the NCAA Division III Championship in individual selections released on Wednesday. Urken was named First Team All-NESCAC in singles and doubles while Tercek was named First Team Doubles and Second Team singles. Both players qualified for singles and doubles in NCAA play.

The doubles duo of Kyle Wolfe (Darien, Conn.) and Jerry Jiang were recognized as Second Team Doubles selections.

Additionally, head coach Conor Smith was named the NESCAC Coach of the Year.

Tercek and Urken earned All-NESCAC Second Team doubles honors last year and were recognized as a First Team doubles pairing in 2016. Urken, a junior, also earned a spot on the All-NESCAC First Team in singles for the second year in a row, while Tercek, a senior, is an All-NESCAC Second Team selection in singles this season after earning First Team honors in 2016. They combined for a 23-5 mark this season. Urken posted an 11-5 singles record, playing in the No. 1 position for Bowdoin, while Tercek totaled a 19-5 record playing primarily at No. 2.

Wolfe and Jiang enjoyed another fantastic season and both earned their first All-NESCAC team honors. At No. 2 doubles for the Polar Bears, the duo combined to go 14-5 this season.

Bowdoin head coach Conor Smith was voted as the NESCAC Coach of the Year for the third straight season by his peers, after also earning the award in 2012. Smith, who is in his seventh season at the helm of the Polar Bears, guided Bowdoin to its second straight NESCAC Championship. The Polar Bears will host a regional in the NCAA Championship Tournament this weekend.

The individual NCAA Division III championships will be held May 24-26, both at The Biszantz Family Tennis Center in Claremont, California, and will be hosted by the Claremont-Mudd-Scripps.