Swimming & Diving Closes Out Regular Season With Senior Day Win Against Colby

More photos available at www.CIPhotography.com
More photos available at www.CIPhotography.com

BRUNSWICK, Maine – The Bowdoin men's and women's swimming and diving teams delivered convincing victories over Colby College to complete the season sweep of Maine NESCAC teams.

The 18th-ranked women won 2010.5-83.5, while the men won 177-123.

Women's Meet Highlights

  • Marshall Lowery, Sterling Dixon, Mary Laurita, and Amanda Banasiak posted a season best 1:48.76 to win the 200 medley relay by six seconds.  
  • First-year Kathleen Kemp followed with a runner up finish in the 1000 free, touching in a season best 10:39.76.
  • First-year women finished first through third in the 200 freestyle with Kate Fosburgh finishing in 1:55.57, followed by Jess Gearan (1:58.16) and Kate Moynihan (2:01.46).
  • Lowery won the 100 back (59.26) while teammate Cecilia Dehavenon tied for second with a 1:01.43. Lowery came back to win the 200 backstroke in dominant fashion in 2:05.09. There, Gearan finished second in 2:11.27.
  • Caitlin Loi was just out touched in the 100 breaststroke, securing second place in 1:11.73.
  • Dixon and Jules Kiley went one-two in the 200 fly with Dixon touching in 2:10.01 and Kiley finishing in a personal best time of 2:14.65. Dixon also won the 200 IM in 2:11.87 as Kiley was third (2:20.86) and Kate Moynihan slid in between for second in 2:20.20.
  • The Polar Bears were first and second again in the 50 free with Banasiak (24.76) and Moody (25.18).
  • Laurita won the 100 free in 53.27 while Fosburgh swam a 54.58 for second. Laurita was also first to the wall in the 100 fly with a time of 57.10.
  • Senior Rebecca Stern scored 247.49 points to win one meter diving while teammates Thea Kelsey (235.12) and Wren Sablich (228.90) were second and third. In her final home dual meet Stern also won three meter with 243.08 points. Kelsey (227.92) and Sablich (215.25) were second and third again.
  • Claire Wolff won the 200 breaststroke with a 2:32.57. Sophomore classmate Nadia Eguchi crushed her 500 free season best with a 5:10.23. Kemp was second in 5:19.07.
  • The team finished the meet with another victory in the 800 freestyle relay as Banasiak, Moody, Lowery, and Fosburgh touched in 7:53.47.

Men's Meet Highlights

  • Justin Yang, Michael Tirone, Julian Abaldo, and Michael O'Neal raced to a 1:35.64 to win the 200 medley relay by eight tenths of a second. 
  • Daniel Williams (9:52.45), Gabriel Siwady (10:11.70), and Coleman Komishane (10:24.20) finished second through fourth in the 1000 free. In the 500 free Williams (4:49.64) and Siwady (4:57.77) were second and third. 
  • Jacob Baltaytis and Andrew Macdonald snagged second and third in the 200 free in 1:47.66 and 1:47.75. Baltaytis won the 100 fly with a 52.81 while Abaldo was runner up (53.13).
  • First-years Ted Mebust and Justin Yang secured the first one-two finish of the day in 52.69 and 52.74. In the 200 back Mebust (1:55.43) and Yang (1:58.07) were second and third. Classmate Attics Kangas touched fourth (2:04.53).
  • Tirone won the 100 breaststroke with a 58.71. Senior Stephen Pastoriza cleared a minute in 59.47, just .03 behind second place. Pastoriza won the 200 breast with a 2:09.22 while Tirone was third with a time of 2:14.59. In his final individual dual meet race, Pastoriza added another victory, touching in 1:59.92 to claim the 200 IM. 
  • Jean-Baptiste Andre and Macdonald were second and third in the 200 fly in 1:58.49 and 2:00.77. Junior classmate Cameron Chertavian touched fourth (2:02.44).
  • After anchoring the winning medley relay, O'Neal returned to win the 50 free in 22.01. Abaldo was third in 22.24. In the 100 free Abaldo had the upper hand, winning in 48.33 while O'Neal was third in 49.33.
  • Mebust, Baltaytis, Macdonald, and Williams were second place in the 800 freestyle relay in a time of 7:18.21.
  • Senior Mitchell Ryan won both boards in his final dual meet. On three meter he scored 315.23 points while on one meter he secured the win with 292.64 points. Henry Isaacson , Qyn Byrne , and Irfan Dotani were third, fourth, and fifth on both boards. 

Up Next

  • The women compete that the NESCAC Championship at Wesleyan on February 14.
  • The men are off until the NESCAC Championships beginning on February 21 at Middlebury.