Athletic Department Announces Annual End-of-Year Awards

Athletic Department Announces Annual End-of-Year Awards

BRUNSWICK, Maine - The Bowdoin College Athletic Department announced their end-of-year honors at the annual All-Sports Banquet on Thursday evening, May 13.

Three-season athlete Dana Riker (Cape Elizabeth, Maine), an All-NESCAC performer in track and two-time First-Team All-NESCAC soccer player was tabbed as the Outstanding Female Athlete.

Senior football player Oliver Kell (Westford, Mass.), who re-wrote the school record books and captured All-League honors last fall, was recognized as the Outstanding Male Athlete.

A complete list of award recipients is as follows:

2010 Athletic Award Winners
Anne L.E. Dane Trophy for Outstanding Female Leadership
Shavonne Lord '10, Softball/Field Hockey

Frederick G.P. Thorne Award For Outstanding Male Leadership
Brian T. Fry '10, Men's Ice Hockey

Wil Smith Community Service Award
Shana Natelson '10, Women's Ice Hockey

Lucy L. Shulman Trophy for the Outstanding Female Athlete
Dana M. Riker '10, Women's Soccer/Indoor Track/Outdoor Track

Outstanding Male Athlete
Oliver H. Kell '10, Football

Outstanding First-Year Female Athlete
Kayte Holtz '13, Women's Ice Hockey

Outstanding First-Year Male Athlete
Oliver T. Van Zant '13, Baseball

Academic Achievement Award For Men
James S. Neely '10, Men's Tennis

Academic Achievement Award For Women
Hannah M. Larson '10, Women's Rugby

Society of Bowdoin Women Award
Sabrina C. Cote '10, Women's Basketball

Harvey Award For Club Sport Leadership
Shalmai D. Rivera '10, Rowing

Polar Bear Award:
Mike Ouellette

Click here for a complete list of past award winners.