Women's Cross Country Finishes Seventh at NESCAC Championship

Courtesy of www.CIPhotography.com
Courtesy of www.CIPhotography.com

BRUNSWICK, Maine - The Tufts University men and Williams College women claimed the crowns at the 2012 New England Small College Athletic Conference Cross Country Championships hosted by Bowdoin on Saturday.

Coby Horowitz of Bowdoin earned the men's individual title with a time of 24:26.78, edging Tufts' Matt Rand in the final stretch to win by a half-second. He is the first Polar Bear to win the event since Stephen Allison in 2000. Amherst's Keri Lambert ran away and hid from the field in the women's race, crushing the course record in a time 20:33.45 and out-distancing second-place Addie Tousley of Middlebury by 47 seconds. She is the fourth Jeff to win the event in the past six years.

In the men's 8K team race, Tufts finished with 66 points thanks to five finishers in the top 20. The NESCAC title is their fourth overall and first since winning three-straight from 2003-05.

The Jumbos barely held off Middlebury, who totaled 69 points and had its top five finish in the top 22. The host Polar Bears claimed third (88), edging in-state rival Bates (89) by a single point. Williams (97) took fifth followed by Wesleyan (164), Amherst (196), Connecticut College (199), Colby (241), Hamilton (281) and Trinity (362).

In addition to Horowitz's first place finish, Bowdoin also had Sam Seekins finish in fifth place in a time of 24:34.54. Nicholas Saba was 21st (25:08.85), Gregory Talpey 28th (25:19.60) and Kevin Hoose 33rd (25:26.83) to round out the top five Polar Bears.

The women's 6K team event was a record-breaker as the top six runners all beat the previous course standard. Williams was able to defend its 2011 championship thanks to a trio of runners in the top five, led by Kaleigh Kenny's third-place showing in 21:37.80.

The Ephs posted 45 points to handily take first place over Middlebury (71), who had three finishers in the top 11. Amherst was third (107), followed by Bates and Tufts in a tie for fourth (138). Wesleyan (153), Bowdoin (161), Colby (186), Hamilton (215), Connecticut College (285) and Trinity (355) rounded out the team totals.

Madelena Rizzo was Bowdoin's top women's finisher in ninth place (22:07.31) while Olivia MacKenzie was 20th (22:27.81) for the Polar Bears. Gina Stalica was 26th (22:33.63), Lucy Skinner 63rd (23:31.16) and Brenna Fischer 75th (23:50.28) to complete the top-five for Bowdoin.