Polar Bear Indoor Track Teams Sweep Season-Opening Invitational

Polar Bear Indoor Track Teams Sweep Season-Opening Invitational

BRUNSWICK, Maine - The Bowdoin College indoor track and field teams came away victorious in their opening meets of the 2013-14 season Saturday at Farley Field House.

Competing against in-state schools Southern Maine, Maine-Farmington, St. Joseph's and Colby, the Polar Bear women racked up 172 points to handily defeat the field while the men's team posted 143 points in a 30-point win over closest foe Southern Maine.

Among the several Bowdoin winners, senior Coby Horowitz posted the highlight - a new school record in the two-mile run, posting an astounding time of 9:03.04 that demoralized the field by over 45 seconds. The time breaks the former record of 9:07.6 that was set by Douglas Ingersoll '81 and had stood for 32 years.

Addison Carvajal led the way for the Bowdoin women, as she took both the high jump (1.52 meters) and long jump (5.28 meters) competitions. The Polar Bears had four winners on the track, including Samantha Copland in the 60 meter dash (8.18), Emily Clark in the 200 meters (26.57), Meghan Bellerose in the 600 meters (1:41.49) and Gillian Kramer in the 3000 meters (11:23.46). Katharine Krupp won the triple jump (10.9 meters) and Katherine Harmon claimed the weight throw (14.80 meters). Bowdoin also claimed the 4x800 meter relay in a time of 10:25.74 (Skye Aresty, Alana Menendez, Carolyn Veilleux, Bellerose)

In the men's meet, Bowdoin's depth proved to be the difference. The Polar Bears had several winners in addition to Horowitz's record-setting run. Christian Sleeper won the 800 meters (2:01.50), Guo Wei Wu took the 1000 meters (2:46.34) and Parker Hayes took the 60 meter hurdles (9.43). In the field events, Benjamin Eisenberg won the high jump (1.83 meters), Ben Woo Ching took the shot put (13.07 meters) and Anthony Todesco won the weight throw (13.39 meters).

Both teams will return to action on January 11 as they host another invitational at Farley Field House beginning at noon.