Women's Track Team Places Eighth at New England D-III's

Erin Silva placed third in the pole vault to lead the women's team
Erin Silva placed third in the pole vault to lead the women's team

WATERVILLE, Maine - Coby Horowitz came away with a New England title as the Bowdoin men's and women's outdoor track teams competed at the New England Division III Championship Saturday at Colby.

Horowitz claimed the crown in the 1500 meter run (3:48.77) to take the lone first-place finish for Bowdoin at the meet. The Polar Bear women finished eighth among competing teams while the Bowdoin men placed ninth overall.

Horowitz moved up to #3 on the NCAA qualifying list with his winning time, which was nearly a second and a half clear of the second-place finisher. First-year Jacob Ellis continued his excellent rookie campaign by capturing a second-place showing in the 800 meter run (1:52.29), edged at the line by just .08 seconds. The duo was joined by Christian Sleeper and Taylor Love to take a second-place finish in the 4x800 relay in a time of 7:41.86.

Other top performances for the men included Chris Genco's sixth-place in the long jump (6.62 meters), James Boeding's seventh-place in the 3000 steeplechase (9:22.37) and Sam Chick taking eighth in the 400 meter hurdles (54.66)

Erin Silva took the top finish for the Bowdoin women with a third-place finish in the pole vault (3.55 meters). Katherine Harmon had a personal best in the hammer throw (51.74 meters), which was good enough for fourth place overall in the event. Randi London collected a fifth-place finish in the shot put (12.36 meters).

Michele Kaufman was sixth in the long jump (5.20 meters) and earned sixth in the 100 meter hurdles for Bowdoin.
Hayleigh Kein placed sixth in the high jump (1.58 meters), Katherine Krupp took seventh in the triple jump (10.82 meters) and Emily Clark finished seventh in the 400 meter hurdles (1:04.65) to round out the top Polar Bear finishers.

The top relay squad for the women on Saturday was the 4x800 meter relay team that placed fifth overall Ally Fulton, Carolyn Veilleux, Camille Wasinger and Maggie Bryan posted a time of 9:28.70.