About the Program

*NCAA Elite Eight*: 2008, 2012
*NCAA Sweet Sixteen*: 2006, 2007
*NCAA Regionals*: 2001, 2002, 2003, 2004, 2005, 2009, 2010, 2011, 2013

The women's tennis program at Bowdoin College was instituted in 1973, and has flourished into one of the strongest programs in the nation. Over the past handful of seasons, Bowdoin has been a constant in postseason play, competing well in NESCAC Tournament play as well as in NCAA Tournaments.

The highwater mark undoubtedly came in 2007-08, when the Polar Bears bounced top-seeded Amherst to advance to the squad's first-ever NCAA Quarterfinal appearance. Bowdoin followed it up with another dramatic run in the NCAA Tournament in 2011-12, when they also advanced to the NCAA Quarterfinals.

In 2007, Kristin Raymond became the first Polar Bear to win the Fall Intercollegiate Tennis Association's New England Singles championship. In 2009, Sara D'Elia '09 earned All-American honors and advanced to the NCAA tournament semifinals. In 2011, Kellen Alberstone '13 was named the ITA National Player to Watch and was named as an All-American in 2012.

In recent seasons, the Polar Bears have also played host to the NESCAC and ITA Regional Championships. Bowdoin plays a full schedule of matches in both the fall and spring season, setting the stage for postseason tournaments in May.