Bowdoin Women's Soccer Earns NSCAA Gold Medal For Team Ethics and Sportsmanship

Bowdoin is 18-5-5 dating back to the beginning of the 2012 season
Bowdoin is 18-5-5 dating back to the beginning of the 2012 season

BRUNSWICK, Maine - The Bowdoin College women's soccer team has received the NSCAA Gold Medal Award for Team Ethics after finishing the 2012 season without a single yellow or red card.

The Polar Bears, who enjoyed one of their finest seasons under first-year head coach Brianne Weaver, were one of just eight teams across all divisions of intercollegiate soccer to receive the Gold Medal. Bowdoin finished its 2012 campaign with an 11-4-4 record, a NESCAC Tournament runner-up finish and advanced to the Second Round of the NCAA Division III Tournament for just the second time in program history.

In addition, the team handed out team awards at its annual year-end banquet before winter break.

The Bicknell Award - Molly Popolizio
To the most valuable player on the women's soccer team.  Named after Ray Bicknell, long-time coach of the women's soccer team.

The Common Good Award - Molly Popolizio
For the player who is unquestionably dedicated to the upholding the ideal of the common good within the team.  This player promotes and emulates a strong sense of team unity and positivity through adversity, and a sincere belief in putting team before self to foster competitive excellence for the team.  Awarded in honor of the 2012 team.

Polar Bear Award - Becky Krakora and Casey Blossom
For the player(s) who most closely represents all of the best qualities of Bowdoin women's soccer in the following four areas: on the field, in the classroom, on campus, and in the community.  Academic and athletic excellence, congeniality, and a positive impact on the campus and local community are hallmark traits. 

The Christian P. Potholm II Soccer Award - Bridget McCarthy
Given to the College by Christian P. Potholm II '62, DeAlva Stanwood Alexander Professor of Government, and Sandra Q. Potholm, this fund supports annual awards for the female and male scholar-athlete whose hard work and dedication have been an inspiration to the Bowdoin soccer program.  Selection of the recipients is decided by the coaching staff.