Anna Piotti Leads All-NESCRC Awards For Women's Rugby Team

Anna Piotti led Bowdoin in tackles last fall
Anna Piotti led Bowdoin in tackles last fall

BRUNSWICK, Maine - Anna Piotti has been named the New England Small College Rugby Conference Player of the Year in awards handed out by the league office.

Piotti, a sophomore, leads a list of nine Polar Bears who were honored by the league. The Polar Bears claimed their second-straight NESCRC Championship this fall, advancing to the Quarterfinals of the American Collegiate Rugby Association Tournament and finishing the year with a record of 9-2.

The nine Polar Bears honored as All-NESCRC selections were Piotti, Pamela Zabala, Addison Carvajal, Maura Allen, Kameryn Sanchez, Hayleigh Kein, Amanda Montenegro, Emily Athanas-Linden and Paige Pfannenstiel.

Piotti dominated all over the field for Bowdoin this fall, becoming the second consecutive Polar Bear to claim conference player of the year honors, joining Danielle McAvoy who claimed the award last season. A flanker, Piotti also saw action as a lock in scrums and on jumps during lineouts. She led Bowdoin in total tackles, including try-saving tackles this season, scored three tries offensively and assisted on four others.

"Anna is well deserving of this award," said head coach MaryBeth Mathews. "She's the type of hard-working, unselfish team player who will do whatever is asked of her, and then go 110%, all with a smile on her face.  Moving from wing to second row, the transition she made and the impact she had on every aspect of the game is outstanding."