Bowdoin Women's Rugby Team Highlighted in NESCRC All-Conference Awards

Courtesy of
Courtesy of

BRUNSWICK, Maine - The Bowdoin College women's rugby team has raked in several post-season awards handed out by the New England Small College Rugby Conference.

Leading the way for Bowdoin was senior Danielle McAvoy, who was named as the Conference's Player of the Year, and head coach Marybeth Mathews, who was tabbed as the Conference's Coach of the Year.

McAvoy was named as a First XV All-NESCRC Team recipient as well, and was joined by teammates Uche Esonu, Maddie Baird, Lynn Freedman, Randi London and Kerry Townsend on the all-conference team. Anissa Tanksley was tabbed as an alternate First XV selection. In addition to their efforts offensively, the individuals all also contributed defensively for a Bowdoin team that permitted just 28 points the entire season (a microscopic 2.8 points/game).

In addition, Emily Athanas-Linden was recognized by the league as Bowdoin's honoree on the All-Sportsmanship Team.

Bowdoin finished its fall season with a perfect 10-0 record and the first-ever NESCRC Championship, earning a bid to the National Tournament next spring.