Bowdoin Golf Teams Announce Fall 2012 Tournament Schedule

Bowdoin Golf Teams Announce Fall 2012 Tournament Schedule

BRUNSWICK, Maine - The Bowdoin College men's and women's golf teams have announced their 2012 fall tournament schedules.

The Polar Bear women will play in six tournaments while the men will compete in eight this autumn. Both squads will host Invitational tournaments to open the campaign on September 8-9 at Brunswick Golf Club.

The women's team will host the Bowdoin Blast to tee off the season and will play at the Maine State Championship at Val Halla the following weekend, September 15-16. The Polar Bears will travel to Massachusetts for the Mount Holyoke Invitational at The Orchards G.C. on September 22-23 and will return to Maine to play in the Bates Invitational at the Martindale G.C. on September 29-30. The Polar Bears will culminate their season at the Williams Fall Classic and NESCAC Championship on October 6-7 hosted at Taconic G.C..

The Bowdoin men will also start their year at home with the Bowdoin Invitational at Brunswick Golf Club on September 8-9. The Polar Bears will then compete in a trio of in-state tourneys: in the Maine-Farmington Invitational at Sunday River G.C. on September 13, in the Husson Invitational at Penobscot G.C. on September 15 and the Maine State Championship at Val Halla G.C. on September 22-23. The Polar Bears will also send a team to compete in the Williams Invitational at Taconic G.C. that weekend before returning to play in the USM Invitational at Gorham G.C. on September 28. The season will come to a climax at the NESCAC Qualifier hosted by Amherst at Hickory Ridge G.C. on September 29-30, followed by the C-B-B Championship hosted by Colby at Waterville C.C. on October 8.

Coached by Gerry Caron, the women's team will be captained by Taylor Guiffre and Chelsea Gross. The men's team is coached by Tomas Fortson and will be captained by John Bohorquez and Bobby Kaminski.

2012 BOWDOIN WOMEN'S GOLF SCHEDULE (match times subject to change):

2012 BOWDOIN MEN'S GOLF SCHEDULE (match times subject to change):