Sailing Posts Strong Opening Weekend Results

More photos available at
More photos available at

Coach Pizzo's Report - September 11

The Polar Bears opened the fall 2017 season with five events throughout New England including the Harry Anderson Trophy at Yale, the Toni Deutsch Trophy at MIT, the Harvard Invite, the Penobscot Bay Open at Maine Maritime, and the Harman Trophy at Maine Maritime. 

The team competed at two separate regattas up at Maine Maritime.  The Harman Trophy serves as a qualifier for the New England Match Race Champs.  The team hung in their on Saturday in some tricky conditions with lots of current right off the academy.  The team had some good races on Sunday in the tight fleet and finished tied for second overall and qualified for the NE Match Race Champs hosted by MIT at the Corinthian YC October 14-15.  Harrison Hawk '18, Matt Safford '20, Michael Kann '19, and Louis Frumer '18 competed for the Polar Bears.

The Polar Bears had a strong event at the PBO and were leading the regatta for most of the event.  The team ultimately finished second overall and had some great races in the fifteen team regatta.  Alex Vasiliou '18 and Jake Griffin '18 were third in A-division with first year Alden Grimes and Hannah Konkel '20 were fifth in B-division.

The Toni Deutsch at MIT featured sixteen of the top NEISA women's teams.  Fifteen races were completed in both divisions.  Ellis Price '18 sailing with Caitlin Tardio '19 split time with Claire Havig '21 and Nora Cullen '18 in A-division while Kelsey Slack '21 and Isabelle Austin-Green '19 sailed B-division.  The Polar Bears finished 12th overall.

Down at Yale, sixteen teams from around the country competed at the Harry Anderson Trophy.  The event features many of the top teams.  The Polar Bears finished 6th overall with Matt Kaplan '19 and Louisa Lindgren '19 finishing 2nd in A-division and Christian Filter '20 and Emily Gonzalez '20 finishing 8th in B-division.  

This upcoming weekend the team will be competing in three events including the Central 2 at Boston College, the Hatch Brown Trophy at MIT, and the Ross Trophy at UVM.