Sailing Takes First Place Finish for Protest Trophy

Sailing Takes First Place Finish for Protest Trophy

Coach Pizzo's Report - October 16

The Polar Bears had a busy weekend over fall break, competing in three different events including hosting the Barnett Trophy, the Storm Trysail Intercollegiate Regatta at Larchmont Yacht Club, and the Protest Trophy hosted by Bates.   

The Barnett Trophy featured 12 teams from throughout New England and upstate New York.  Each morning had delays due to breeze, but once the breeze settled in, we had great conditions for racing, completing 11 races in each division.  Racing at the top was extremely close with Boston College winning with 86 points, Dartmouth finished with 87 points, and the Polar Bears finished third with 88 points.  Pete Edmunds and Julia Rew sailded A division and Tom Peabody and Paige Speight said B division.

The team competing down at Larchmont Yacht Club for the Storm Trysail Intercollegiate Regatta had very difficult conditions with big breeze and big seas.  The regatta was able to complete two races on Saturday before the carnage became too great.  Sunday, the conditions were even worse and racing was cancelled.  The Polar Bears finished tied for 4th of 11 teams and we poised to make a move up the leader board if racing were to take place on Sunday. Sailing for Bowdoin was Courtney Koos, Phil Koch, Hunter Moeller, Chester Jacobs, Christian Houston Floyd, and Matt Lyons. A big thanks to Dr. Carl Olsson for allowing the team to sail his boat at the event!

The team also competed at Bates for the Protest Trophy.  Five teams competed in light and variable conditions up at Taylor Pond.  Mimi Paz and Frances Jimenez sailed well, winning all three races in A division.  Kim Dempsey and Olivia Diserio also sailed well in B division, allowing the team to take the overall victory with twenty-eight points.  

The upcoming weekend is a big one with two interconference regattas including the Captain Hurst Bowl hosted by Dartmouth and the Yale Women's Regatta and a conference major hosted by Mass Maritime.