Sailing Earns Season-Best Finish with Third Place Showing at Regis Trophy

Photo courtesy of
Photo courtesy of

Coach Pizzo's Report - October 2

The Polar Bears had a busy weekend, competing in four regattas throughout New England.  Our first New England Championship for the year took place down at Yale for the Men's Singlehanded Champs in Lasers.  Matt Lyons '17 and Jack McGuire '17 competed for the Polar Bears.  The fleet of 26 competitors was extremely deep with several national and world champions competing.  There were light and lumpy conditions on Long Island Sound all weekend and the team performed well.  After 10 races, McGuire finished 9th of 26 and Lyons finished 15th.  

The team also competed in the Hood Trophy hosted by Tufts.  Pete Edmunds and Julia Rew competed in A division and Tom Peabody and Ayaka Okawa competed in B division.  This was the top coed interconference regatta of the weekend with many of the top teams in the country competing.  The Polar Bears struggled both days in the light and tricky conditions.  The team was having issues on the starting line and finished a disappointing 17th of 18 teams.  Don't count these guys out.  We are making some big adjustments in practice and this team should get back to top form in the near future.
At the Loder Trophy at UNH, there was very little breeze.  The regatta was only able to complete 3 races in each division over the two days.  Chrisitan Houston Floyd and Frances Jimenez sailed A division and Phil Koch and Paige Speight sailed B division, finishing 8th of the 13 teams competing.
The highlight performance of the weekend took place at the Regis Trophy hosted by BU.  The team finished tied for second of 16 teams but lost the tie breaker and thus finished third overall.  Erin Mullins and Tess Lameyer sailed A division and Courtney Koos and Olivia Diserio sailed B division.  The team was able to stay disciplined in the tricky conditions and earned many top 5 finishes in the 10 race series.
This upcoming weekend we are hosting the Bowdoin Women's Invite and will head to Dartmouth for the Hewitt Trophy.