Pizzo, Schwitzer and Okawa Headline New England Sailing Honors For Bowdoin

DORCHESTER, Mass. - The New England Intercollegiate Sailing Association announced its 2012 All-NEISA Women's Teams at the conclusion of the Jerry Reed Trophy competition last weekend. Three members of the Bowdoin sailing team were honored, including head coach Frank Pizzo, who was named Coach of the Year.

In addition to Pizzo's honor, first-year Kaylee Schwitzer (Annapolis, Md.) was named as a Second-Team Skipper while sophomore Ayaka Okawa (Nagoya, Japan) was recognized as a Second-Team Crew member.

Twice named NEISA Women's Sailors of the Week this season, Schwitzer and Okawa have enjoyed a stellar campaign. Schwitzer was one of just three first-year skippers honored and the duo has several wins to their credit, including the B-Division at the Mrs. Hurst Bowl and the Fall New England Championships as well as a first-place showing in the A-Division at the President's Trophy.

Pizzo, in his fourth year at the helm of the Polar Bear sailing program, has led the team to unprecedented heights. The women's team was ranked for the first time in program history this spring, peaking at a school-best #11 in April. He is the first Bowdoin coach to earn NEISA Coach of the Year recognition.