About the Program

The men's tennis team at Bowdoin College dates back to the turn of the century and is one of the most respected programs in Division III. The team plays an extensive fall and spring schedule and is consistently one of the top programs in New England.

Bowdoin's most successful seasons in recent history, posting a 16-5 record and reaching the NCAA "Sweet Sixteen" in 2007 under then first-year head coach Colin Joyner and claiming the NESCAC crown in 2008. In 2009, Polar Bears Jamie Neely '10 and Oscar Pena '12 reached the NCAA Championship Match in Mens Doubles, and in 2010 Stephen Sullivan '11 reached the Quarterfinals of the NCAA Singles Tournament.  In 2011, Sullivan and Pena teamed up to win Bowdoin's first ever Men's Doubles Division III National Championship. In 2012, the team reached the NCAA Quartefinals under coach Conor Smith. The Polar Bears have qualified for the NCAA Tournament in 11 of the last 12 seasons.

Numerous Bowdoin players have earned regional honors, led by McAfee Burke '05 and Colin Joyner '03, who were both named NESCAC Players of the Year as seniors and both received the Clarence Chaffee Award given annually to the player who best combined and displayed a high standard of tennis coupled with the highest levels of sportsmanship. Neely also earned the Chaffee Award as a senior in 2010. In 2011, Stephen Sullivan '11 and Oscar Pena '12 earned All-American honors.  Sullivan also earned the ITA Senior Men's Player of the Year.