Swim Teams Compete in Non-Scoring Meet at Maine-Orono

Swim Teams Compete in Non-Scoring Meet at Maine-Orono

ORONO, Maine - The Bowdoin College men's and women's swimming and diving teams posted several strong showings in a non-scoring meet at Division I University of Maine-Orono on Saturday afternoon.

On the men's side, Linc Rhodes won the 400 IM with a time of 4:24.40. In the 200 yard freestyle Peter Deardorff earned a first place finish (1:48.90). Rhodes and Deardorff were joined by Chris Granata and Fred Elias on Bowdoin's winning 200 free relay team (1:32.90). In the 100 yard butterfly Bowdoin entries finished 1-3 with Kevin Koh finishing first followed by Rhodes and Ryan Kulesza. Koh finished with a time of 53.41. Kulesza won the 100 IM (55.75) and teammate William Shi took second (55.80). Kulesza finished second behind John Lagasse, who took first, in the 100 breaststroke (1:03.49). Bowdoin took 1-3 in the 200 backstroke beginning with Ryan Peabody (2:06.72) followed by Eli Bass (2:06.74) and Andrew Park (2:09.59). Basyl Stuyvesant won the 50 free (22.96) and JR Chansakul finished on top in the 200 breaststroke (2:16.45).

Tom Kramer took first in both the one (255.40) and three-meter (254.50) diving competitions.

In the women's meet, Teri Faller took first in the 200 backstroke (2:19.46) and rounded out Bowdoin's top three sweep in the 100 IM. Katherine Foley and Mariah Reading took the one and two spots in the 100 IM with Foley recording a winning time of 1:03.05.  Bowdoin also saw a 1,2,3 finish in the 200 breaststroke. Helen Newton finished in 2:37.98 followed by SarahHirschfield and Sue Sim. Kelsey Goodwin took first in the 200 yard butterfly (2:20.61). Lela Garner also took first in the 100 yard butterfly (1:05.09)

The Polar Bears will be back in action on January 26 as they host Wesleyan and Trinity at Greason Pool.