Bowdoin Swimmers Tame Bobcats in Friday Night Dual Meet

Basyl Stuyvesant took an individual first and two relay wins.
Basyl Stuyvesant took an individual first and two relay wins.

LEWISTON, Maine - The Bowdoin College swim teams both took first place in yesterday's duel meet against host Bates.

The Polar Bear women defeated Bates (149-139) while the men also beat Bates (177-121).
On the women's side Katherine Foley had a couple of first place finishes in the both the 1000 (10:38.35) and 500 yard free (5:08.14). In diving, Sage Mikami and Serena Taj finished 1-2 in the 1 and 3 meter diving. Mariah Reading finished first in the 50 butterfly (27.55) and runner-up to team Lela Garner in the 400 IM. Garner finished with an impressive time of 4:40.45 to land first. Bowdoin also finished 1-2 in the 100 yard breaststroke with a first place performance from Helen Newton (1:10.84) and second place from Maeve O'Leary (1:11.0). Bridget Killian took first in the women's 200 free at 1:57.45.
The Polar Bear 400 free relay, swam by Kaley Kokomoor, Killian, Garner, and Foley, finished with a time of 3:37.81 and first place.
The Polar Bear men had an equally successful outing. Ryan Peabody won the 1000 yard free (10:14.89) and rounded out Bowdoin's top three sweep in the 400 IM. Ryan Kulesza and JR Chansakul took first and second in the 400 IM. Chansakul took first in the 100 yard breaststroke (1:02.01). Kevin Koh had a pair of wins in both the 100 (52.57) and 50 (23.57) butterfly. Peter Deardorff took first with a time of 1:47.78 in the 200 free. Basyl Stuyvesant and Andrew Park finished 1-2 in both the 50 and 100 yard backstroke, Stuyvesant posted times of 25.13 and 53.76 respectively. Linc Rhodes and William Shi paced the men's 100 free, with Rhodes winning at 49.31.
The team of Stuyvesant, John Lagasse, Koh, and Shi won the 200 yard medley relay with a combined time of 1:38.57. Lagasse, Rhodes, Stuyversant, and Deardorff put together a first place finish in the 400 freestyle relay (3:16.30).
The Polar Bears are at University of Maine-Orono, today, with an 11:00 AM start.