Bowdoin Swimmers Host Division I Maine in Non-Scoring Meet

Bowdoin Swimmers Host Division I Maine in Non-Scoring Meet

BRUNSWICK, Maine - The Bowdoin College men's and women's swimming and diving teams hosted a non-scoring meet against Division I Maine-Orono on Saturday at Greason Pool.

The Polar Bears posted several impressive performances, led by a pair of record-breaking performances by Nathan Mecray.

The senior set a new pool and school record with a time of 25.99 in winning the 50 yard breaststroke and also established a new school record in claiming the 100 yard individual medley with a time of 53.39. Mecray's already owned both school records, but his 50 breaststroke time trimmed by more than six-tenths of a second off the previous facility mark established in 1995. In addition, Mecray also won the 100 breaststroke (57.65) in Saturday's action.

Other multiple winners for the Bowdoin men included Ryan Peabody in the 400 yard IM (4:15.25) and 500 freestyle (4:57.62), Ryan Kulesza in the 200 freestyle (1:47.92) and 100 butterfly (53.92) and Mac Routh in the 50 butterfly (23.14) and 200 backstroke (2:05.30). EJ Googins won the 50 free (22.55), Peter Deardorff in the 100 freestyle (50.19), Linc Rhodes in the 100 backstroke (55.13), Alex Tougas in the 1650 free (17:25.79) and Tom Kramer claimed the three-meter dive (235.57)

On the women's side winners included Helen Newton in the 100 breaststroke (1:09.71), Teri Faller in the 100 freestyle (55.59) and Allen Garner in the 100 IM (1:02.83).

Bowdoin also won the men's 200 yard freestyle relay (Deardorff, Rhodes, Basyl Stuyvesant and Andrew Park) in 1:31.05 and 200 medley relay (Routh, Park, Chris Granata and William Shi) in 1:40.81.