Brewster, Danssaert and Jones Named All-New England For Men's Soccer

Zach Danssaert was joined Ben Brewster and Andrew Jones as an NSCAA All-Region honoree
Zach Danssaert was joined Ben Brewster and Andrew Jones as an NSCAA All-Region honoree

BRUNSWICK, Maine – Three members of the Bowdoin College men's soccer team received All-Region recognition from the National Soccer Coaches Association of America.

Senior co-captain Ben Brewster (Cape Elizabeth, Maine) was named as a First Team recipient for the second time in his career while fellow co-captain Zach Danssaert (Solana Beach, Calif.) and sophomore Andrew Jones (Scarborough,m Maine) received Second Team honors.

One of the finest defenders in Division III soccer, Brewster completed his decorated career by back-lining a Bowdoin defense that allowed just 16 goals in 16 games this year. The 2010 NESCAC Rookie of the Year, who received Second Team laurels as a sophomore, closed out his career with consecutive First Team All-NESCAC honors. Brewster pitched in a goal and an assist, also earning NESCAC Player of the Week recognition on October 28, becoming one of just two defenders to earn the conference's weekly award this fall.

Danssaert, who scored one of the most famous goals in Bowdoin history in an overtime NCAA regional win against Middlebury in 2010, rounded out his collegiate career by leading the Polar Bears with five goals and seven assists this year. His seven assists were the most in the NESCAC while his 17 points stood fifth. He finishes his career with 18 goals and 10 assists. Earlier this fall he was recognized as Second Team All-NESCAC.

Jones earns his first All-New England honor after starting all 16 games for Bowdoin this autumn. He scored four goals and added a pair of assists for the Polar Bears, with two of his goals coming in key conference games - a tie against Middlebury and a 2-1 win over Conn. College. He was also named Second Team All-NESCAC this season.

The Polar Bears finished the season with a record of 8-4-4, reaching the NESCAC Semifinals for the first time since 2010.