About the Program

There are few institutions that can match the history and prestige of Bowdoin Men's Ice Hockey. It is perhaps the most tradition-rich sport at the college, having been part of the College since 1919. Not only does the program boast of rich tradition, but of rich success.

Prior to the creation of NESCAC and NCAA Tournament play, the team made 13 appearances in the ECAC Championship game and won six titles. Over the past few seasons, Bowdoin has continued their winning tradition, averaging over 17 wins per season and reaching the NESCAC Championship game every year from 2005-2007. Bowdoin has won multiple NESCAC titles and NCAA Tournament appearances over the last decade.

In January of 2009, Bowdoin opened the Sidney J. Watson Ice Arena; the most state-of-the-art ice arena in Division III. The Polar Bears routinely pack the stands at 'The Sid", and averaged 1,100 fans in the facility's first full season in 2009-10.

Bowdoin has had numerous All-Americans, including Jean Roy '84, Jon Leonard '87, Charlie Gaffney '95, and Kyle Shearer-Hardy '11.  Roy, Leonard, and Gaffney were awarded All-American nods three times, while Hardy was honored twice. For a complete history of Bowdoin hockey, visit the history and record book page.