Follow Bowdoin-Oswego NCAA Hockey Live on the Web

Follow Bowdoin-Oswego NCAA Hockey Live on the Web


OSWEGO, N.Y. - The Bowdoin College men's ice hockey team will play in the NCAA Tournament for the first time since 2002 when they face-off with Oswego State University Saturday night at 7:00 p.m. The Polar Bears (19-6-1) finished first in the New England Small College Athletic Conference regular season standings and earned an at-large bid to the tourney.

The Lakers (25-2-0) were the State University of New York Athletic Conference champions and claimed the league's automatic bid.

Complete coverage of the game is available by clicking the links above. Oswego State will provide a video webcast, radio broadcast and live statistics of all the action beginning at 6:30  p.m. Saturday night.

The winner of Saturday's game advances to the NCAA Division III "Final Four" in Lake Placid, N.Y. on March 19-20.

About the Polar Bears

The Polar Bears are making their third NCAA Tournament appearance overall (1996, 2002) and are looking for their first national tournament the NCAA's prior tournament  format of two-game series, the Polar Bears were swept by Wisconsin-River Falls in '96 and Norwich in ' per NESCAC rules, Bowdoin was unable to participate in NCAA Championships prior to 1993-94, and won six ECAC crowns from Terry Meagher is in his 27th season at the helm of the Polar Bears, accumulating a record of 440-209-43 (.670) the sixth-most wins of any active coach in Division III hockey...Bowdoin is looking for their 20th victory, a plateau they have not reached since the 1988-89 season....Defenseman Kyle Shearer-Hardy was named First-Team All-NESCAC in selections announced last week while first-year Daniel Weiniger was named the NESCAC's Rookie of the Year....Goaltender Chris Rossi has been fantastic since returning from injury for the second semester....Sunday's NESCAC title game loss was the first defeat on the year for Rossi (14-1-1) who has posted a 2.05 goals against average and .920 save percentage since the beginning of February.

About the Lakers

The Lakers return to the NCAA Tournament for the first time since 2007, when they won the Division III Championship in overtime against will be the Lakers' 11th NCAA Tournament apperance (1982-'84, '87-'89, '91, '98, 2003, '07)...Saturday's SUNYAC Championship Game win over Plattsburgh gave Oswego their first conference title since 2002-03...the Lakers boast the second-best scoring output of any team in Division III, averaging 5.26 goals per game this season...sophomore forward Eric Selleck, the SUNYAC's Most Valuable Player, leads the nation in scoring with 52 points (2.0/game) this year on 21 goals and 31 assists...Selleck was joined by junior forward Chris Laganiere and junior defenseman Stephen Mallaro as First-Team All-SUNYAC selections...freshman Jon Whitelaw  was named the SUNYAC's Rookie of the Year while head coach Ed Gosek was tabbed as Coach of the Year...Gosek is in his seventh season at the helm of Oswego, totaling a 139-41-14 record (.753).