Nicky Pearson Selected to NFHCA Hall of Fame

Head coach Nicky Pearson has led Bowdoin to four NCAA Division III Championships
Head coach Nicky Pearson has led Bowdoin to four NCAA Division III Championships

BRUNSWICK, Maine - Bowdoin College head field hockey coach Nicky Pearson has been selected to the National Field Hockey Coaches Association Hall of Fame.

One of three members of the Class of 2014, Pearson is joined by long-time Southern Maine head coach Paula Hodgdon and current Boston University head coach Sally Starr. The trio will be inducted into the Zag Field Hockey/NFHCA Hall of Fame during the 2015 NFHCA Annual Convention in January in Providence, Rhode Island. 

In 18 seasons at the helm of the Polar Bears, she has established Bowdoin as the premiere team in Division III field hockey, qualifying for the postseason every year and making NCAA Division III Final Four appearances in 2005, 2006, 2007, 2008, 2010, 2011 and 2013.

She has coached the Polar Bears to four Division III Championships, earning titles in 2007, '08, '10 and '13.

Seven times she has been honored as the NESCAC Coach of the Year (2000 2002, 2003, 2005, 2006, 2007, 2010) and she is the only coach to have won the honor more than twice.

Four times, in 2007, 2008, 2010 and 2013, Pearson earned her profession's highest honor when she was recognized as the Division III Coach of the Year following each of Bowdoin's national championships. In '07, she directed the Polar Bears to a perfect 20-0 campaign and NCAA Championship - the first by any team in school history. She has won the NESCAC Tournament Championship seven times - more than any other coach in conference history.

Entering the 2014 season, Pearson's .831 winning percentage (266-54 record) is the second-best in NCAA Division III history. Her teams own an astounding 24-7 record in NCAA Tournament play.

 A native of Hereford (England), Pearson attended St. Mary's College of London, receiving her Bachelor of Education in Physical Education and Biology. While in England, Pearson was a member of the National Field Hockey Club Champions and competed at the European Club Field Hockey Championships in Frankfurt, Germany in 1990. Her accolades include All-England Women's Field Hockey Association Coaches Award and the British Weight Training Coaches Award.