Nicky Pearson Collects Fourth NFHCA Division III Coach of the Year Honor

BRUNSWICK, Maine - Bowdoin College field hockey coach Nicky Pearson has been named the Division III Coach of the Year by the National Field Hockey Coaches Association.

It is the fourth time that Pearson has been named the NFHCA Division III Coach of the Year, following each of Bowdoin's NCAA Championship seasons ('07, '08, '10, '13). This year, Pearson led the Polar Bears to an 18-3 overall record, their seventh "Final Four" appearance and their fourth national championship with a 1-0 win over Salisbury on November 24.

In her 18 seasons, Pearson has established Bowdoin as the premier program in Division III field hockey. In addition to winning four of the last seven Division III titles, she has led Bowdoin to the postseason every year and has garnered seven NESCAC Coach of the Year awards - the most of any coach in any sport in conference history. She has racked up 266 wins against just 54 losses in her time at Bowdoin, posting an .831 winning percentage.

Over the last four years Pearson's teams have gone 73-9, recording a .890 winning percentage and claiming two national crowns.

The Hereford, England native is one of eight Bowdoin coaches to earn a National Coach of the Year award, along with Sidney Watson (men's ice hockey, 1971, '78), Terry Meagher (men's ice hockey 1986, '89), John Cullen (women's soccer, 1992), Michele Amidon (women's ice hockey, 2003) and Stefanie Pemper (women's basketball, 2004).