Football Team Announces Year-End Award Winners, 2012 Captains

Football Team Announces Year-End Award Winners, 2012 Captains

BRUNSWICK, Maine - Bowdoin College head football Dave Caputi has announced the team's year-end awards and captains for the 2012 Polar Bears.

Rising seniors Martin Robledo (Beverly, Mass.), Beau Breton (Bedford, N.H.) and Sean O'Malley (Medfield, Mass.) were chosen by their teammates to captain the 2012 Bowdoin football team.

All three started for Bowdoin in 2011: Robledo on the offensive line, Breton as a defensive back and punter and O'Malley at wide receiver. The Polar Bears finished the 2011 campaign with a 4-4 record and retained the C-B-B Trophy for the sixth straight season.

Other award winners were:

Wallace C. Philoon Trophy 
Jimmy Honan
The Wallace C. Philoon Trophy is awarded each year to a non-letter winner of the current season who has made an outstanding contribution to the Bowdoin College Football Team.  This award is made to a man who has been faithful in attendance and training and has given his best efforts throughout the season.

Philip H. Soule Award
Chris Martin
The Philip H. Soule Award shall be presented to a senior, or worthy underclassmen, who letters in football and a second intercollegiate varsity sport who has displayed the character, dedication and enthusiasm for competition as exemplified by Coach Soule.
Winslow Robinson Howland Trophy
Peter Troubh and Dan Evans
A trophy given by his friends in memory of Winslow Robinson Howland, of the Class of 1929, varsity football captain, 1928.  It is inscribed each year with the name of that member of the Bowdoin varsity football team who has made the most marked improvement on the field of play and who best exemplifies the qualities of aggressiveness, cooperation, enthusiasm for the game, and fine sportsmanship so characteristic of Winslow Robinson Howland Varsity Football Captain 1928.
William J Reardon Memorial Trophy
Pat Noone and Ian Vieira
This trophy is given to Bowdoin by members of the Reardon family and his college and business friends.  A replica of the trophy is presented each year to a senior on the varsity football team who has made an outstanding contribution to his team and his college as a man of honor, courage and leadership, the qualities, which William J. Reardon exemplified at Bowdoin College on the campus and on the football field.  William J. Reardon of the Class of 1950 was on the freshman and varsity football teams for four years and was selected as center on the All-Maine team of 1949.

Boiled Oil Award
Pat Noone
This award was established in 1967 by football coach Phil Soule and formalized in 1970 by the Bowdoin Club of Portland, is presented "to the senior who displayed the qualities of toughness, hardness and spirit of play throughout the entire football season"